Stuck in a rut!

A couple of months ago I was cooking the same few tired recipes every week and getting desperately bored of eating veggie chilli for days on end. In an attempt to be frugal I would cook up a big batch of curry/chilli/bolognaise and freeze it into portions to use when I was late in from work, or those few days before payday when the fridge is bare.

The trouble is I love cooking, I love variety and most of all I love fresh and interesting food. My inspiration was Jack Monroe’s blog, which made me realise that fresh, tasty and exciting food could be done on a budget.

And so I began, on a mission to plan my meals, budget my weekly shop and scour the internet for exciting yet frugal vegetarian meals. I didn’t have to look too far, as agirlcalledjack is full of vegetarian and vegan recipes!

So before I start road testing everyone else’s recipes, here is one of my tried and tested recipes. It was originally a weight watchers recipe which I have gradually changed and added to.

Butternut squash and chickpea curry

image

Ingredients:
1 butternut squash
1 onion
1 pepper
A handful of green beans
1-2 cloves of garlic
1 can of chickpeas
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
1 tsp ground coriander seeds
1 tsp ground cumin seeds
1/2 tsp of turmeric
Salt & Pepper
Fresh coriander
Spray oil for cooking

Remove seeds from the butternut squash, cut into cubes, spray with oil and roast for approx 50 mins at 200°c.

Slice the onions finely, fry on a medium heat until soft, crush the garlic, add with the spices to the onions and fry for a few minutes.

Add chopped tomatoes and drained/rinsed chickpeas, season to taste. Simmer for 20 minutes, then add sliced pepper, green beans and the butternut squash. Add chopped fresh coriander just before serving.

Leave a Reply

