Lentil Bolognaise

image

I can make a Bolognaise blindfolded (Ok slight exaggeration, but I make the dish a lot). It is one of my favourites and I’ll vary it depending on what I have available. Sometimes I add red wine, or balsamic vinegar, tomato puree or marmite. Sometimes I add peppers, or mushrooms. But as long as I have onions, garlic, herbs and chopped tomatoes it is delicious. I would usually use soya mince, but fancied a change and saw Jack Monroe’s red lentil bolognaise and thought I would give it a go. I used green lentils as I do love them. It’s a yummy and hearty meal, I served it with a mixture of spaghetti and spiralized courgette and carrot. I really enjoyed having lentils instead of a meat substitute. Lucky I’m a veggie that loves lentils! I’ll definitely be making this recipe (or a variation of it) again.

Vicky

Leave a Reply

